Press "Enter" to skip to content

National Audit of Hospital Mortality Annual Report

, ,

The National Audit of Hospital Mortality Annual Report provides mortality information across six key diagnoses: acute myocardial infarction (heart attack), heart failure, ischaemic stroke, haemorrhagic stroke, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, and pneumonia. Data for the report are extracted from the Hospital In-Patient Enquiry Scheme (HIPE) and are uploaded to the National Quality Assurance Improvement System, National Audit of Hospital Mortality (NQAIS NAHM) web-based tool. This allows individual hospitals to access their mortality data at hospital, diagnostic group, and individual diagnosis level. Data from 44 publicly funded hospitals in Ireland was used in these reports.  Comparison to other hospitals is not possible, but comparison of hospital performance to a national average is available. Report available in PDF format only.

Owner: National Office of Clinical Audit (Government agency)

National audit of hospital mortality annual report