Press "Enter" to skip to content

Leapfrog Group Releases Fall 2020 Hospital Safety Grades

Share this:

The Leapfrog Group released the Fall 2020 Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades. Assigning “A,” “B,” “C,” “D,” and “F” letter grades to general acute-care hospitals in the U.S., the Safety Grade is the only rating focused entirely on how well hospitals protect patients from preventable errors, accidents, injuries, and infections.

Across all states, highlights of findings from the fall 2020 Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade include:

  • 34% of hospitals were graded “A’s,” 24% were “B’s,” 35% were “C’s,” 7% were “D’s,” and less than 1% were “F’s”
  • Five states with the highest percentages of “A” hospitals are Maine, Idaho, Delaware, Massachusetts and Oregon
  • There were no “A” hospitals in Alaska, South Dakota and North Dakota
  • Notably, 29 hospitals nationwide have achieved an “A” in every grading update since the launch of the Safety Grade in spring 2012

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is reviewed by a National Expert Panel and receives guidance from Johns Hopkins Medicine’s Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality. The biannual Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is independently assessed, peer-reviewed, fully transparent and free to the public. It shares critical patient safety information to consumers, so that they can make informed decisions about where they seek care.

Data used to calculate Hospital Safety Grades include up to 27 measures, gathered primarily from the Leapfrog Hospital Survey and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). While the data does not yet include findings collected during the height of COVID-19, the data offers an indication of how well hospitals implemented fundamental safety precautions prior to the pandemic, an important factor in preparedness. The Hospital Safety Grade is updated every six months and future updates will incorporate pandemic response periods.

Read more:

Share this: