Press "Enter" to skip to content

CMS to report AHRQ PSI and IQIs on CMS Hospital Compare

Share this:

The Deficit Reduction Act (DRA) of 2005 authorized the Secretary of Health and Human Services to expand the number and types of inpatient quality measures in the Reporting of Hospital Quality Data for Annual Payment Update (RHQDAPU) program. Beginning in 2009, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) adopted eight Patient Safety and Inpatient Quality Indicators developed by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) for the RHQDAPU program.

The AHRQ Patient Safety Indicators (PSIs) reflect quality of care for adults inside hospitals, and focus on potentially avoidable complications and iatrogenic events. The AHRQ Inpatient Quality Indicators (IQIs) also reflect quality of care for adults inside hospitals and include inpatient mortality for selected medical conditions and procedures, measures of procedure volume, and measures of appropriate utilization.

CMS’ reporting of the AHRQ measures is based on Medicare claims data. CMS anticipates publicly reporting eight AHRQ measures to its Hospital Compare consumer website in December 2010 – reporting data for October 2008 to June 2009

The eight AHRQ Inpatient Quality and Patient Safety Indicators to be reported on CMS Hospital Compare are as follows:

  • PSI 4    Rate of Death among Surgical Inpatients with Serious Treatable Complications
  • PSI 6    Iatrogenic Pneumothorax Rate
  • PSI 14    Postoperative Wound Dehiscence Rate
  • PSI 15    Accidental Puncture or Laceration Rate
  • PSI 90    Complications/Patient Safety for Selected Indicators (Composite Score)
  • IQI 11    Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm (AAA) Repair Mortality Rate
  • IQI 19    Hip Fracture Mortality Rate
  • IQI 91    Mortality for Selected Conditions (Composite Score)

More information is available at

Share this: